Winner: 2023 NSMQ Grand Finale

2023 NSMQ Grand Finale: As the curtains rise for the highly anticipated 2023 National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ) grand finale, the stage is set for a thrilling intellectual battle.

The top three contenders have emerged from the crucible of fierce competition.

NSMQ Grand Finale 2023

PRESEC Legon, Opoku Ware School, and Achimota School have vanquished formidable rivals in the semi-final matchups, securing their positions in the championship showdown. With a collective total of 11 championship titles, these schools are no strangers to the intense battleground of the NSMQ grand finale.

Scheduled for October 31, 2023, the grand finale promises a high-stakes clash of intellect and knowledge where former champions vie for supremacy.

NSMQ Grand Finale

For Achimota School and Opoku Ware School, the stage is set for redemption as they aim to avenge past losses to PRESEC Legon in the 2009 and 2020 finals, respectively. The desire for retribution fuels their determination.

On the other side, PRESEC Legon has its eyes fixed on an exceptional feat: achieving back-to-back victories. As the defending champions, they aspire to secure their 8th NSMQ trophy, further solidifying their status as record holders in the competition’s illustrious history.

Profiles of the three schools in the grand finale

Let’s take a closer look at the rich history and credentials that these three combatant schools bring to this grand intellectual battle:

NSMQ Grand Finale

Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School (PRESEC Legon):

  • Founded in 1938
  • NSMQ record holders (Most trophies)
  • 7-time champions (1995, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2020, and 2022)
  • 12 appearances in the finals
  • 1st Runner-up four times
  • The only school to win the trophy back-to-back
  • Reigning Greater Accra Regional Champions
  • 4-time Regional Champions (2020, 2021, 2022, and 2023)
  • Motto: “In Lumine Tuo Videbimus Lumen” (In Thy Light We Shall See Light)

Opoku Ware School (OWASS):

  • Established in 1952
  • 2-time champions (1997 and 2002)
  • Nine appearances in the finals
  • 1st runner-up on five occasions (1995, 2003, 2005, 2008, and 2016)
  • 2nd runner-up once (2020)
  • 2022 Ashanti Regional Champions
  • Motto: Deus Lux Scientiae (God is the Light of Knowledge)

Achimota School (Motown):

  • Founded in 1927
  • Two-time champions (1998 and 2004)
  • The first and only co-educational school to lift the trophy
  • Four appearances in the finals
  • 1st runner-up twice (1994 and 2009)
  • 2019 Greater Accra Regional Champions
  • Motto: Ut Omnes Unum Sint (That they all may be one)

As these intellectual giants prepare to clash on the NSMQ stage, the 2023 grand finale promises to be an unforgettable showdown where knowledge and brilliance take center stage.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top